top of page

Patatas Payesas


Recently I ate a plate of excellent Patatas Payesas at El Torero in Newcastle. I don’t have precise instructions, it is a dish that everyone has their own version of. This is my way of doing it..

The dish calls for peppers, not my favourite raw or with the skin left on, but I do find red or yellow peppers deliciously sweet if grilled & de-skinned. I usually have them ready prepared & stored in a jar of oil ready to put straight onto salads.

Peel & cut potatoes into quite small pieces or slices. Par boil then transfer to a sauté or frying pan with garlic, oil, salt & pepper. (the garlic is only to flavour the oil so, garlic oil or salt is equally good)

As the potatoes crisp add finely sliced onion & the grilled de-skinned peppers. Serve when the onion just turns translucent.

If adding freshly sliced peppers add earlier to cook sufficiently. The peppers & onions should not be black or over cooked but hold their colour.

As a variation this works well with the addition of prawns & tiny pieces of chorizo.

Recent Posts
Archive
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page